A Scouting district is a geographical area of the local BSA council, determined by the council executive board. District leaders mobilize resources to ensure the growth and success of units within the district’s territory. All districts are responsible for carrying out four standard functions: membership, fund development, program, and unit service.

  • The membership function strives for growth through the organization of new Scouting units and growth through new members joining existing units.
  • The fund development, function sees that the district provides its share of funds to the total council operating budget.
  • The program function concentrates on helping Scouting units with camp promotion; special activities, including community service; training adult volunteers; and youth advancement and recognition.
  • The unit service function provides direct coaching and consultation by district volunteers for unit adults to help ensure the success of every Scouting unit.
Adirondack District

Clinton County- Ausable Valley, Beekmantown, Chazy Union, Northeastern Clinton, Northern Adirondack, Peru, Plattsburgh, Saranac

Essex County- Crown Point, Elizabethtown-Lewis, Keene Central, Lake Placid, Minerva, Moriah, Newcomb, Schroon Lake, Ticonderoga, Westport, Willsboro

Franklin County- Brasler Falls, Brushton-Moria, Chateaugay, Malone, Saint-Regis Falls, Salmon River, Saranac, Tupper Lake

Fort Orange District

Albany County- Albany City Schools, Berne-Knox Westerlo, Bethlehem, Cohoes City, Green Island Union, Guilderland, Menands Union, North Colonie, Ravena-Coeymans-Selkirk, South Colonie, Voorheesville, Watervilet

Mohawk District

Fulton County- Broadalbin-Perth, Gloversville, Johnstown, Mayfield, Northville, Oppenheim, Wheeler Union

Hamilton County- Indian Lake, Inlet Common, Lake Pleasant, Long Lake, Piseco Common, Wells

Montgomery County- Amsterdam City Schools, Canajoharie, Fonda-Fultonville, Fort Plain, Saint Johnsville

Saratoga County- Burnt Hills/Ballston Lake, Galway, Shenendehowa

Schenectady County- Duanesburgh, Mohonasen, Niskayuna, Schalmont, Schenectady City, Scotia-Glenville

Turning Point District

Saratoga County- Ballston Spa, Corinth Central, Edinburgh, Saratoga Springs, Schuylerville, South Glens Falls

Warren County- Bolton, Glens Falls City, Glens Falls Common, Hadley-Luzerne, Johnsburgh Central, Lake George, North Warren, Queensbury, Warrensburgh

Washington County- Argyle, Fort Ann, Fort Edward, Granville, Greenwich, Hartford, Hudson Falls, Putnam Central, Salem, Whitehall

Yankee Doodle District

Columbia County- Berkshire Union, Chatham, Germantown, Hudson City, Kinderhook, New Lehanon, Taconic Hills

Rensselaer County- Averill Park, Berlin Central, Brunswick, East Greenbush, Hoosic Valley, Hoosick Falls, Lansingburgh, North Greenbush, Rensselaer-Columbia-Greene, Schodack, Troy City, Wynantskill Union

Saratoga County- Mechanicville, Stillwater, Waterford-Halfmoon Union

Washington County- Cambridge

%d bloggers like this: