Wakpominee Good Scout Award Dinner

This event has been postponed to spring 2022.

Please continue to register for your seats, donations, and sponsorships. Thank you so much for your support. Especially during these times, we need your support.  

Click Here to Register for the Event 2021 WAKGSAD Email Invite


The Good Scout Award

The “Good Scout” Award recognition is presented to those who exemplify in their daily life the ideals of the Boy Scouts of America as expressed in the Scout Oath and Law. Recipients are chosen for their outstanding community service, as evidenced by their leadership to many worth-while organizations, as well as the respect and esteem in which they are held by their colleagues.

Lincoln D. “Linc” Cathers Award and the Dr. John A. “Doc” Matochik Award

In 2013, the Wakpominee District and the Twin River’s Council lost two lifelong, devoted scouters and dedicated supporters of all that Scouting and volunteering stands for.

Linc Cathers and Doc Matochik were such moving forces in the whole Scouting Movement including the Good Scout Award Dinner, the former Wakpominee District, and the Twin Rivers Council, that the members of the dinner committee voted in 2014 to create an annual Lincoln D. “Linc” Cathers Award and the Dr. John A. “Doc” Matochik Award to be given to an outstanding Corporate Supporter from the Warren and Washington County area and an outstanding Scouter Champion, respectively. As Linc and Doc always knew, without these corporate and Scouter supporters, we would never be able to financially maintain the Scouting program.

About Our Honorees

Click on each honoree to learn more.
Glens Falls Hospital
Hillary Alycon
Hudson Headwaters Health Network
Dr. William Borgos
Warren County Department of Health
Ginelle Jones
Greenwich Elks Lodge
Diane Gutasy
Queensbury Elks Lodge
Bruce Imrie
Saratoga Elks Lodge
Stephen Dorsey
Randy Glenn
Past Good Scout Honorees